The Art of Failing

My best friend posted a blog tonight on failing (which you can read here) and it inspired me.

While her failure was on launching her next big thing, it made me think about failure and how the people in our generation deal with it.

We don’t really talk about failure. We gather with friends and we talk about the great stuff going on, we boast on social media about the fantastic new job we scored, the new side hustle we’re doing, and the fabulous lives we’re all living. 

We’re a generation and a society that is seriously crushing on all things positivity. Motivational memes flood our Facebook and Instagram. But when was the last time you saw a post from someone talking about how hard they failed? That they failed to get a promotion because they said all the wrong things, that they completely fucked themselves over today by failing to wake up on time, that they failed a class or failed out of school entirely. *crickets* Nothing is coming to mind. 

I want you to know it is ok to fail. I fail all the time. We fail all the time. And it’s ok to talk about it. Failure is not a bad thing, and it’s not negative.

I failed yesterday because I worded an email wrong.

I failed at finding all the right deductions to owe $0 on taxes this year.

I failed at finishing college because I burned out.

I fail and I fail often. Sometimes it pushes me into depression because I feel that I’m not supposed to talk about it.

The fact of the matter is that failing is normal, and it’s real, and it fucking sucks at the time, but dammit it’s for a reason.

I worded that email wrong because there was a bigger problem underlying and I hadn’t realized it yet.

I owe taxes because we made a decent amount of money last year and we owe our fair share. And we know what we need to do next year to break even.

I didn’t finish college because I lacked discipline and decided to join the military, which taught me more about myself than I could have ever imagined, and lead to some of the most profound failures and life learning experiences that have shaped who I am today. And dammit, I’m proud of me. 

My grandpa, a Korean War veteran and myself circa 2011

Talk about your failures. Share them with your friends and loved ones so they can learn from them, avoid them in their own lives, and help you recover faster. We are all here for you. 

Love,

Fish 

Leave a Reply

